20th Anniversary Conference and Integrity Awards

On 8 November, Transparency International will celebrate is 20th anniversary with a one-day conference On Transparency and the Integrity Awards ceremony. 2013 marks not just Transparency International’s anniversary, it also marks the anniversary of an idea: that a global community and dedicated people can create lasting change towards a more just and equitable world. (Download programme)

On this occasion, Transparency International will bring together representatives of international organisations, the private sector, and civil society to share and discuss ways to deepen and continue the fight against corruption. Reflecting on 20 years of efforts to stop corruption, leaders from all sectors will also look forward to the next 20 years as we strive for greater accountability and transparency.

Following the conference, the Integrity Awards ceremony will take place the same evening. The awards honour the bravery of exceptional individuals who have made a real difference in the fight against corruption. Their stories are an inspiration to the anti-corruption movement and echo a common message – that the abuse of power can be challenged.

The conference and the awards ceremony will be open to the media and the full conference will also be live webstreamed at landcommerce.info. Members of the public will have the opportunity to comment and ask the panellists questions on Twitter using the hashtag #TIat20.

Panellists at the conference will include:

  • Huguette Labelle, Chair, Transparency International
  • Peter Eigen, Founder, Transparency International
  • Laurence Cockcroft, TI Founding Member, former Chairman TI UK
  • Peter Conze, TI Founding Member, TI Germany Board Member
  • Baltasar Garzón, Spanish Jurist
  • Fritz Heimann, TI Founding Member
  • Kamal Hossain, TI Founding Member, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Bangladesh
  • Pascal Lamy, Former Director-General, World Trade Organisation
  • Pierre Landell-Mills, Founder, Partnership for Transparency Fund
  • Yves Leterme, Deputy Secretary General, OECD
  • Jon Lindén, Head of Strategy and Planning, Africa Progress Panel
  • Akaash Maharaj, Executive Director, GOPAC
  • Leonard McCarthy, Vice President for Integrity, World Bank
  • Kumi Naidoo, International Executive Director, Greenpeace
  • Mary Jane Ncube, Executive Director, Transparency International Zimbabwe
  • Elena Panfilova, Transparency International Board Member, Executive Director, TI Russia
  • Paul Polman, Chief Executive Officer, Unilever
  • Claudia Pragua, Head of Division for Governance, Democracy, and Rule of Law, BMZ
  • José Ugaz, Transparency International Board Member
  • Frank Vogl, TI Founding Member and Former Vice-Chairman

For more information, and should you wish to attend please contact Alex Johnson ([email protected]).

Event location


Café Moskau
Karl-Marx-Allee 34
10178 Berlin, Germany

Contact Info

[email protected]

Event overview

20th Anniversary Conference and Integrity Awards

08 November 2013
Event image
Event type:
Event date:
08 November 2013
Organised by:
Alex Johnson

Where we are in the world

Transparency Twitter